Conferment Ceremony

The Conferment Ceremony is a ceremony for all who have completed their PhDs during the year. The people of Uppsala recognise the day because cannon salutes are fired in the morning and during the actual ceremony. Apart from new PhDs, jubilee doctorates will also be conferred during the Spring Conferment Ceremony.

In the ceremonial conferment act in the University Main Building, the new PhDs receive their symbols of honour: a diploma, and a hat or laurel wreath. 

The Conferment Ceremony starts at 12:00 with the entry procession and welcoming words from the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Eva Åkesson. The conferment ceremony music is performed by the Royal Academic Orchestra conducted by Director Musices, Professor Stefan Karpe. The festivities continue into the evening, with a banquet in the Hall of State at Uppsala Castle for the new PhDs, jubilee doctors, relatives and invited guests.


(All times are precise.)

07:00 Cannon salute, first at 07:00 from Uppsala Castle, and later during the ceremony at the University Main Building, performed by gunners from Jämtlands fältartilleri.

08:00 The large Cathedral bell is rung.

11:30 The doors to the Grand Auditorium are opened. The public are welcome to attend. Tickets are required for admission. (Free tickets can be collected in the entrance hall of the University Main Building, from 10:00 on Thursday 31 May until the ceremony begins.)

11:45 Promotors, promovendi and other participants of the academic procession gather in the University Main Building’s gallery in accordance with the instructions provided in the order of procession.

12:00 The audience must be seated.

12:15 The Conferment Ceremony begins with the entry procession.

Welcoming words by Vice-Chancellor Eva Åkesson.

Lecture by the Faculty of Arts’ degree conferrer, Professor Birgitta Meurling: Crinoline, corset, caftan – on clothes, gender and cultural analysis

Conferment in all of the University’s nine faculties. The Royal Academic Orchestra will play during the procession and the ceremony, led by Director Musices, Professor Stefan Karpe.

Words of remembrance over the deceased among the PhDs conferred in 1968, by Professor Jonas Almqvist, degree conferrer of the Faculty of Educational Sciences. 

Speech by the President of the Uppsala Student Union, Max Stenberg, in honour of this year’s jubilee doctors.

Speech by jubilee doctor, Professor Björn Henningsson.

Exit procession. (Guests are asked to remain seated until the procession has exited in its entirety.)

If you have any questions please contact

Conferment Ceremony