Department management

The head of department (prefect) and chairman of the department board is since 1 January 2021 Anna Rosling. Deputy Head is Anssi Laurila.

The head of department is appointed by the Vice-rector (Dean) on a proposal by the Board, and the prefect appoints deputy prefect. The Faculty Board appoints research programme professors, while the head of department appoints the directors of undergraduate and graduate studies. The duties for the prefect and department board are described in “Rules and procedures at Uppsala University”.

Research programmes/Subdepartments

The department is divided into four research programmes. Each programme is lead by a professor appointed by the Faculty Board, who is responsible that the program is managed in a collegiate spirit, and within the limits and resources that the board, the head of department and the faculty board makes available. In addition, the department hosts a field station (the Erken Laboratory), headed by a station manager.

Research programme/Subdepartment Head of programme
Evolutionary Biology Niclas Backström
Limnology Lars Tranvik
Plant Ecology and Evolution Sophie Karrenberg
Animal Ecology Frank Johansson

Department board

The department board

The department board is the highest descision-making body in the department.The department makes descisions on the internal organisation of the department, the budget and general guidelines for the activites of the deparment. 

Representatives from all groups active in the department are part of the board and the head of the department is chairman.

Board minutes are found in the employee portal.

Department board 2023

Corporation Regular Deputy Term
Personal deputy:
Head of the department and chairman Anna Rosling Anssi Laurila 2021-01-01 -
Group deputy:
Teacher/researcher Robert Muscarella Gesa Weyhenmeyer (1) 2023-01-01 - 2025-12-31
Elina Immonen Pascal Milesi (2)
Claus Rüffler Veera Nogerius (3)
David Berger Vaishali Katju (4)
Personal deputy:
Tech/Admin Frida Svedbergh Anna Backeryd-Lindström 2023-01-01 - 2025-12-31
Group deputy:
Students Sofia Papadopoulou Lars Höök 2023-01-01 - 2023-12-31
Jesper Boman
David Manyara

Adjunct to the board: One representative for the health and safety officers

The steering committee

The department's steering committee consists of the chairs of the research programmes, the heads of the research station and administration, and the chair and deputy chair of the department. The steering committee is a forum for exchange of information, and coordination of various tasks and issues across the department's different units.

The executive committee

Decisions on short-term positions and stipends are delegated from the board to an executive committee, consisting of the department head, the deputy department head, and the head of administration.


The administrative staff at IEG and their duties.

Duties Name
Administrative manager Anna-Lena Klerks
Economist, Evolutionary biology, Animal Ecology Frida Svedbergh
Economist, Limnology & Erken Anna Backeryd
Economist, Plant Ecology & Evolution, Animal Ecology Emelie Tollin
Document manager/Department archivist Emelie Tollin
HR generalist, Evolutionary biology & Animal Ecology Sandra Gustafsson
HR generalist, Limnology & Plant Ecology Annette Berger
Ladok Jenny Lundh

Working environment and Equal opportunities committee

The working  group consists of representatives from every personnel category, the Head of Administration, chairman and the adjunct safety agent. The group supports the chairman in matter related to the working environment and equal opportunities and handles issues related to the working environment and equal opportunities, updates and distributes information, writes procedures, makes suggestions for action plans, guidelines and policies and follows up on decisions and actions. The working group meets every quarter. An annual review of the work is performed in February/March.

Anna Rosling Chairman
Anna-Lena Klerks Coordinator
Gunilla Engström
Annette Berger Secretary

The Equal Opportunities Group within the IEG has the following composition:

Dolly Kothawala Chairman
Ingrid Ahnesjö
Annette Berger HR support
Sebastian Sobek
Madeline Chase

Safety contacts

Work safety contacts for IEG are:

Name Reasearch program
Christoffer Bergvall Limnology
Yvonne Meyer-Lucht Plant Ecology and Evolution
Vacancy Evolutionary Biology
Johanna Liljestrand-Rönn Animal Ecology
Nahid Heidari Main Safety contact for EBC
Helena Enderskog Erken research station

Last modified: 2023-01-03